top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdventure Begins

New Year, New Beginnings

I sit outside on this cold morning and listen. I hear the Canada geese honking, Blue jays calling, and sometimes I hear the lake speaking in whispers beneath the ice. The scripture says, “Let everything that has breath praise the LORD.”



The darkest days of winter surround me; trees let go of their leaves long ago and now rest in bare-branched stupor. Animals, some in burrows beneath my feet; some in tree cavities, slumber, only rousing when the temperature rises but soon become motionless in winter’s sleep.


I slow down and meditate on scripture at this quiet time of the year, fasting from the constant attention-seeking demands of the world and begin germinating the seed of His word in my life. Like the frozen soil of winter turning soft in spring, I plant His word to take root in my heart and develop into the good things: hope, faith and love.


The music of creation is all around me all the time. Let that music encircle you and fill you as you step into the new year that is filled with possibilities. May hope and His love guide and keep you.


Blessings to you in the new year!


“Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!” (Psalm 46:10, ESV)


“..that people may know, from the rising of the sun and from the west, that there is none besides me; I am the LORD, and there is no other.” (Isaiah 45:6 ESV)


“And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:7 ESV)


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page