top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdventure Begins

Found by the Great Shepherd

I like to dive in and get things done and if others hesitate, I’m pushing forward thinking of what needs to be done next and start doing it.


There have been times when I feel like I’m bushwhacking

my way along my path. Swinging my machete, hands dirty, shoes muddy, scratches everywhere from all the brush I’m forcing myself through, then I sit down utterly exhausted and frustrated as perspiration trickles down my forehead and ask the Lord, “Why is it so difficult?”


It’s about then the LORD probably shakes His head and whispers, “You are stubborn.”


I ask forgiveness, stand up with a cleansed heart and lift clean hands to Him. He places His hand right next to me where I’m at and I step onto it, noticing my name engraved on His palm. I relax in His strength, the humidity lessening the higher up He lifts me, until I can see beyond the tree canopy.


And up there above the crazy, thick jungle of life below, I can see there is a straight, narrow and level path right there that leads out to the horizon. If only I tried His way first, instead of struggling to carry out my own plan.


I think I’m like one of those sheep He talked about. The ones who said, “We like sheep have gone astray, each to his own path.”


For this my son was dead, and is alive again; he was lost, and is found.’ And they began to celebrate.

( Luke 15:24, ESV)



All of us, with our little backpack on, heading out into the wilderness of life without even a compass or bottle of water, thinking we can do it ourselves….


I’m so glad the shepherd heard me bleating and came looking for me, the one that ran off on her own and got lost.


Today, you are worth celebrating when you repent and turn to the living God through his Messiah, Jesus.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page