top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdventure Begins

The Open Window

I sat down to have a cup of coffee and a piece of toasted grain bread when I heard the buzz-- not breaking news, but a little fly on the window next to the table.


He’d followed me from room to room and now was looking through the window to the big world outside wishing he were there.


I slid open the window leaving a 5 inch opening at the bottom for this little guy to escape. I did this several times and each time he would crash around the glass from the top to the bottom, but never far enough to take the path of freedom.




I’ve been a lot like that little fly. Looking at the big window of scripture and wishing I was walking in abundance, all my needs met, like when I was so sick with pneumonia the bed shook from coughing spasms, as I kept repeating 'by his stripes I am healed."


Sometimes I need to slow down and take it one step of faith at a time. Sometimes I just need to stop trying to do it my way and watch for the breeze of the Holy Spirit to come through the window. And then just follow it.


Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father except through Me. (John 14:6, NAS)


The opening is right there as Jesus said, No man comes to the Father, but through Me. We stand looking through the window of life wondering how we can accomplish this or that with our own plan, while the gate, the door, the opening is right there. Through Messiah we can do all things.


May you walk a little closer to your loving LORD God Creator today.


"I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength." (Philippians 4:13, BSB)



4 views0 comments
bottom of page